The Milky Way Over Paranal

The Paranal Observatory's four, massive 8.2 meter telescope units are situated on
top of the 2,600 meter high mountain, Cerro Paranal, in the dry Atacama Desert in
northern Chile. The individual unit telescopes can be used separately or in combination.
Their names, Antu, Kueyen, Melipal, and Yepun, are taken from the Mapuche language.
Fittingly they translate to Sun, Moon, Evening Star, and Southern Cross. Together they
are fittingly known as the European Southern Observatory's Very Large Telescope.